A Bright Future for Everyone

A review of the dual exhibition ‘vomiting and crying vomiting and crying you are my sister you are my sister’ by Kadi Estland and Netti Nüganen at Tartu Art Museum from 18 January 2019 to 28 April 2019. The title

Missing Parts

  If someone knew beforehand that I was writing a review of an exhibition by Armands Zelčs, they would probably expect me to examine the show from the point of view of his artistic practice as a whole, or as

The Truth Revealed about the National Pavilion

A review of the Mūkusala Art Salon exhibition ‘National Pavilion’, 22.11.2018-19.01.2019 In November 2018, the Mūkusala Art Salon in Riga opened another of its rather frequent collection shows. The task is usually assigned to one of the ‘in-house’ curators, and

From the Self towards Others

  Contemplating Diāna Tamane’s exhibition ‘Commissions’ at the ISSP Gallery (16.11.2018–19.01.2019) Diāna Tamane’s exhibition ‘Commissions’, curated by Evita Goze, could at first sight come across as rather an unusual exhibition. Its aesthetic set-up does not bode well with the trendy

A Reflection on the Cultural Politics of the Artistic Message: The Case of the Baltic Triennial in Riga

The video pictures a shy mimosa: touched by the artist’s lips, the leaves of the plant fold. That is, in fact, all that the image shows for quite some time, a mimosa shrub and the artist’s touch. The video recording

‘Four Rooms with a View’ and the Rumble of Thunder. Contemporary sculpture at the Vartai Gallery in Vilnius

This year, from 29 October to 30 November, the Vartai Gallery in Vilnius showcased ‘Four Rooms with a View’ (Keturi kambariai su vaizdu). In the exhibition, five contemporary artists, Aron Mehzion, Anastasija Sosunova and Andrea Zucchini, Neringa Vasiliauskaitė, and Johannes

In Screen We Trust

The exhibition ‘Archaeology of the Screen’ took place recently at the Estonian art museum KUMU. The title of the show allows for multiple interpretations, so it was difficult to predict what the main theme of the exhibition would be. Today,

The Everyday in Breath. Beatričė Mockevičiūtė’s exhibition ‘Asukas’ at the House of Composers in Vilnius

In order to understand some things, both in the art world and in real life, you first have to detect them. To notice. Then they start to exist. Their existence depends on how much and what kind of value you

Survival Kit 10: Exhibition as Gesamtkuntswerk

The tenth Survival Kit contemporary art festival (the first part runs from 6 to 30 September 2018, the second part will be in May 2019) is focused on the concept of ‘outlands’, which the curators define as ‘questioning the traditional

Obsessed with Change. Reflections on the first Riga International Biennial of Contemporary Art

  “Drastic change calls for extreme measures. Are we sure that we really want to change anything? (sic)” asks a good-looking young woman featuring in the video work Impotence (2017) by Belgian artist Ariane Loze, on view at the Zuzeum

EVENTS

BALTICS OUTSIDE BALTICS

CALLS